Nepal gear

img_3395 6

Complete kit for riding in Nepal for a couple of weeks. Everything travels in the Osprey pack except for the clothes/gear worn, the SLR (in the chest pack), the sleeping bag (attached to the bars), the seat bag (attached to the saddle), and the bottle. Pack = 12.5 lbs./5.7 kg.

Left to right, top to bottom:

Sleeping bag, SLR in chest pack, sandals/watch/sunglasses/first aid kit, pack towel/toiletries, moist towelettes/shampoo tin, steripen/spare batteries, silk sleeping bag liner, cashmere shawl, shoes.

Helmet, travel pants, merino t-shirt, long sleeve jersey, bottle, gore-tex jacket, puff vest

Saddle bag with tools, over shorts, merino underwear, goretex shorts, rucksack

Mini pump/shop rag, cycling shorts, merino jersey, gloves, leg warmers, wool cycling cap, cotton cycling cap, 2 pairs merino socks, shock pump

Novel/maps/, passport/passport copies, headlamp, electric outlet adapter/blinkie recharge leads/usb port plug adapter, emergency gel, cable lock, headphones/phone recharge cord, pen, notebook, iPhone.

6 thoughts on “Nepal gear

  1. Postscript: As usual, one scrutinizes gear in hindsight. While I am very pleased about the efficiency of this list, I would change a few things. (1) I would have been fine with one pair of merino socks. (2) The wool cycling cap, while warm and stylish, could easily be replaced with a lighter, thinner windstopper skull cap. (3) Would have been fine without the cotton cycling cap. (4) I don’t need a whole notebook; a few blank sheets would do, since I now make journal entries on the iPhone. (5) I discarded the foam case for the steripen during the trip.

    (I had already ditched the cashmere wrap before I left, nor did I need it.)

    I would add an adapter that screws into light sockets and yields an electrical plug. In Nepal, tea houses would often not have electrical outlets in rooms, but there would usually be one bulb.

  2. Hi Joe,

    I’m Ganesh from Manipal, India. I’m going to be bike touring the Himalayas in India and Nepal starting in July this year for roughly 6 months. I have learnt a lot from your blogs especially with regards to gear selection to facilitate light weight touring. I have a question – currently I am running 26 * 1.5 tyres on my LHT. I am thinking that this would be too thin to do any off roading comfortably and was looking at changing them to either 1.75 inch or 2.0 inch width tyres. Which would you suggest?

    Thanks,
    Ganesh

    • Hi Ganesh,

      Thank you for visiting and writing. You’re going to have a tremendous time on your tour, for certain! The LHT is the perfect bicycle for it, in my judgement. Yes, mounting a 2.0 tire will improve things considerably off-road. It is difficult for me to know what is available to you, but I would go for a fast rolling tire with modest knobs such as the Maxxis Crossmark or the Kenda Small Block 8. You could do some fairly serious off road on that kind of tire without being frustrated on the asphalt roads. Either will fit onto the LHT without trouble.

      I hope that helps a bit, and keep in touch during your preparations, as I look forward to seeing your setup (and then hearing of your travels!).

      All the best,
      Joe

      • Hi Joe,

        Thank you for your encouraging words! They mean a lot to me.

        I have a limited selection of tires to pick from, locally and one of the tour related ones available are the Schwalbe Marathons. You have used these on your LHT. Would you suggest them for my tour?

        A quick word on my setup : Early on in my planning stage, I read a blog on ultralight cycle touring by this dude(iik) who used a backpack on one of his tours. The advantages listed by him for going with a backpack/ultralight setup made too much sense for me to ignore for long. I did think about panniers for a bit but I finally gave in and put some money down on an Osprey Momentum 34. I am now looking forward to spending a couple of weeks off the bike in Nepal doing the EBC trek. This will definitely be one of the highlights of my trip!! I’ll have a dry sack with my tent,sleeping bag, liner strapped to a front rack.

        Ganesh

      • Hello Ganesh,

        Regarding tires, yes the Schwalbe Marathons will serve you well in varied conditions. A good choice!

        And as far as setup, I understand better now. The setup you are describing will be great, and the fact that it allows you to easily do the EBC trek is a bonus. I have seen configurations where riders attach the backpack to a rear rack for riding, and then wear it for the kinds of excursion you are describing. See, for instance, here:
        http://ultralightcycling.blogspot.com/2010/04/carriers-containers.html

        But even if you end up wearing it, you will find it fine as long as it is light.

        Keep us all posted!

        Yours,
        Joe

      • Greetings Joe,

        I have been preparing for my trip. I did a trial run with a loaded bicycle. Man, there is so much to do yet! My first priority is to get a fit done ASAP – I am hoping that it just a stem/handlebar fix and not something drastic like a different frame. Fingers crossed!

        I have page going on G+ : google dot c0m/+GaneshNayak13. Feel free to visit,take a look around and leave comments.

        Best, Ganesh

Leave a Reply

