Bikepacking resupply shopping list

Roll off the trail into a small town to resupply for, suppose, two full days and a half until the next one. So, three lunches, three breakfasts, two dinners, and trail snacks.

Shopping List

Instant oatmeal
Raisins
Coffee

Peanut butter
Tortillas
2 Avocados
2 Apples
Dried mangoes
2 Tomatoes
Salt packets
Block of cheese
Salted nuts

Butterscotch hard candy
Starburst or Skittles

Couscous
2 Vegetable soup packets
2 Carrots
Green beans

Whiskey
Cookies
Chocolate

Maybe some of these are staples and in the bags already, but they are indicated for completeness. Of course the list varies according to what’s available at that particular market. And this is for North America.

Feel welcome to share yours.

15 thoughts on “Bikepacking resupply shopping list

  1. Tuna fish and Chicken in a pouch, refried beans, Tobasco, tortillas, peanut butter, packets of mayonnaise, mustard, relish, jelly lifted from fast food places. Pay Day candy bars and Gatorade powder. Apples, tangerines and bananas. Oats, brown sugar, nuts and Starbucks Via packs. Good for about 7 days then I have to change the menu.

  2. Canned Fish (Salmon Preferred), Salami, Cheeses, Whole Oats, Peanut Butter, Bananas, Apples, Bunch of Broccoli, Instant Mash Potatoes,
    Box of Cookies, Ramen Noodles, Yellow Pepper, Emergen-C packs, Dark Rum, Avocados, Chocolate Bars, and for the first stop after shopping, a bag of tortilla chips and a bucket of fresh salsa if available!

  3. Joe, I buy a lot of the same items as you! I rarely tour without tortillas and peanut butter. And of course chocolate at the end of the day. When I can find it, I lovelovelove Nutella. And I also bring dehydrated refried beans (Fantastic Foods brand.) Dried instant soups from the food co-op/natural food store (when available.)

    I also like to find those “boil and eat” Indian dinners. I usually open the packet and heat it in my pot, and if available I’ll mix in some pre-cooked rice. And one particular combo I loved during my Rainier tour last year was an avocado, tomato, and cheese sandwich, wrapped in a tortilla. So good. Tomatoes don’t transport well, though.

  4. Great idea for a quick and dirty shopping list. The moment I step across a grocer’s doormat, I always flounder like a headless chicken. I will rack my brains for something original but easily sourced in the typical backcountry business.

  5. did i tell you about my last only-grape nuts tour? caloric, fibrous pebbles, breakfast snack and dinner. it’s great to fill water bottles with them because you can gulp them on the go. sometimes for a treat you can add hot water.

  6. Bacon bits- the real thing, not the fake ones (not for meat free folks). Pop Tarts. String cheese won’t melt if it’s hot. Granola. Whole powdered milk. Chili flakes. Peanut M&M’s. Pastries! Fig bars. Trail mix. Chips, if I have room. Maybe a tall boy cheap beer. Peanut butter crackers.

    Fun post, Joe. :-)

  7. if they’re in the area and they’re not too sweet for you. Dates!! So many calories for their size, something like 30 calories each! I also came across PB2 powdered peanut butter?? just add water. more of a bring along than something readily available but great idea, I’ll have to try it for the taste.

Leave a Reply

