New Zealand Postcard

After arriving in New Zealand, I made my way to Motueka, where I was staying for a few days with my old friend Nathan Dahlberg (ex-7-11/Motorola Pro, TdF twice, still rides fast):

Me: “Good to see you, Dahlberg.”
N: “Yeah, you look pretty fat, especially around the middle.”
Me: “F-you dude, it’s winter where I live.”
N: “Yeah, well, that doesn’t mean you’re not fat. You’re going to be slow.”
Me: “I’ve been on fricken trains and planes for 30 hours.”
[Silence.]
N: “That’s the bike you brought?”
Me: “Yeah, why?”
[Silence.]
N: “Yeah, well, okay, put your kit on, let’s go for a ride.”

One thought on “New Zealand Postcard

Leave a Reply

